top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorDeisi Yunga

Preparing for change: young people will change jobs 17 times over 5 different careers in their lives

Actualizado: 4 mar 2019



According to a report from the Foundation for Young Australians (2015), young people are expected to have seventeen jobs over five different careers in their professional lifetimes, of course, there are careers that will probably demand specialization such as medicine but the vast majority of young people will experience the challenges of working in different professions while performing a wide variety of activities, inevitably having to upskill, reskill or learn a new skill from scratch.


Young people are expected to have seventeen jobs over five different careers in their professional lifetimes.

My story

I hold a diploma in Law and I worked as a lawyer, a teacher and a researcher and I have had at least ten different jobs in which I have been able to transfer all the abilities and skills acquired in these jobs.

Multiple times I have used the Socratic method learnt in law school to explain a case during my teaching practice, also the leadership abilities acquired as a national president of an NGO greatly served me during the development of my doctoral dissertation, and as such I have several examples in which unlikely sources of information and experience, came together to help me face the challenges in my professional life, for instance, I believe that the way how we view professional learning, job compositions and the labor market has to be more open and that education has to "catch up" in order to develop professionals that can adapt to new challenges in the labor market.

Tell us about you

Please share your story with us. How many jobs have you had? Have you change career paths? How was the experience?.


Source: https://www.fya.org.au/2018/07/27/young-people-job-mobility-and-building-a-healthy-future-economy/

147 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page